That Felt Good

Back on stage after nine years away from barbershopping!

I stepped away from a 20-year run in the Barbershop Harmony Society after the international competition in 1998 to spend more time with my family. Now that our daughter is finishing up high school (and 100 miles away), her need for Dad to be home every night isn’t quite as pressing. So with Sharon’s blessing and urging, I’ve joined up with the Boonslick Chordbusters, the barbershop chorus in Columbia.

The Chordbusters’ annual show was Saturday night at Columbia’s historic Missouri Theater, and I had the chance to sing two songs with A Work in Progress:

A Work in Progress
A Work In Progress: Greg Grote, Tarry Koutz, Tom Palis, and me (L – R)

We were a bit out of breath on our second song, a ballad. But the first song, “You Make Me Feel So Young”, sounded pretty good if I do say so myself. The shot above captures the high C I have to hit on the final note.

Leave a Reply

