Patriotism = Republicanism?

I’ve noticed a minor trend among AM talk radio stations around the country to brand themselves as “The Patriot”. The hosts on these stations are typically conservative: Mike Gallagher, Michael Savage, Bill O’Reilly, Laura Ingraham, Dennis Prager, Michael Reagan, Janet Parshall, Bill Bennett, Hugh Hewitt, Michael Medved, Sean Hannity, and, of course, El Rushbo.

The impression I get looking at this list is that you’re only a patriot if you defend the Bush administration, no matter what. Well, you can disagree with the president on immigration, but otherwise, he’s the man!

Please. Since when is it unpatriotic to suggest that maybe we should cut entitlements and reduce the size of government? That we should patrol the borders with troops that are now in Iraq based on intelligence that was dummied up inside the White House?

At least there is this: It’s evidence that there are still people in America who don’t automatically associate the word “patriot” with “neo-Nazi” and “militia”.

One response to “Patriotism = Republicanism?

  1. I have to agree Derek. My patriotism is a belief system, not how much I agree/disagree with the currently elected official we call the President, or how much I like or dislike our congress (opposite of progress). I was born in American, am an American citizen, and a patriotiotic one at that. I believe in what this country was founded on no matter how buried it is today, but I am also an Icelandic patriot, because I styrongly believe in their way of life and what their contry was founded on. Escape from oppression, tyrany and dictatorship. They have a very strong religious history as well. I am not anti-American just because I disagree with any particular president on any number of points, or because I like the way another country lives, it means I am exercising one of the freedoms a patriotic American citizen enjoys in our country…freedom of speech. (and for the publicly educated) just because I have the freedom of speech does not automatically afford me a right to publicly bash, mount a verbal war, promote character assassination, or act like the cindy sheehans of the world and engage in public mockery at the cost of dishonoring my own children in the process. Thats what a voting booth is for. We all have brains, we dont need to be “rallied” into patriotism, unless you arent using a brain, in which case you don’t need to be voting. Sorry Dereck…minor rant there, I agree with you and respect your insight.

Leave a Reply

