Farewell, Ladies


“Tinfoil” Gretel
1991-2005

On December 13, 2005, the Bunker lost two-thirds of its security patrol when Gretel and Belle died. Due to prolonged heart disease for Gretel, and advanced tumors and arthritis for Belle, we chose to euthanize both dogs, who’d been raised together since their early puppy days.


“Tinfoil” Belle
1991-2005

The Bunker is far more quiet now, but nearly fifteen years of memories will never be lost. Murphy, the sole surviving security dog, remains very somber but vigilant.

Belle and Gretel are now playing and running in a world without pain. We miss you both.

2 responses to “Farewell, Ladies

  1. Now I’m all choked up. We took one of our dogs to the vet Monday and the customer before us was there to have his pooch put to sleep. From one dog lover to another, you’re in my prayers.

  2. Derek,

    I’m very sorry to hear about the loss of Gretel and Belle. My family and I are huge dog lovers and in fact our dog Dora looks a lot like Belle. We got her after our Boston Terrier, Lucky, had to be euthanized. I know how hard it is to say goodbye, but I imagine losing two at the same time is especially hard. You have my deepest sympathy and also my prayers.

Leave a Reply

