Was Paul Just Yanking Our Chains?

We sat with some friends from our former church at an awards ceremony for the high school marching band last night. They asked what we’ve been doing of late, so I decided to test the waters.

“We’re producing an online ‘radio show’ that deals with some of the darker issues Christians have to wrestle with,” I said. “We just finished a three-part interview with a pastor in Ohio who delivers people from demonic possession.”

“Oh.” Their eyebrows raised slightly.

“What’s really disturbing is that a very high percentage of the people he deals with have been victims of ritual abuse, usually at the hands of someone in the military or intelligence.”

Nervous laugh. So this pastor is nuts, right?

“Seriously. There’s a lot of hard data on this. Our government, or rogue elements within it, is using the occult to create demonic Manchurian Candidates.”

Awkward silence.

Then: “So, how’d Nicole like band this year?”

Why do so many Christians behave as though Paul was using a metaphor when he wrote, “We wrestle not against flesh and blood”?

8 responses to “Was Paul Just Yanking Our Chains?

  1. I think it’s because so many people aren’t sure where they are with Christ. If your not sure where you stand in the ‘big picture’ you most likely try to avoid knowing the ‘big picture’. Let’s face it, the picture has scary stuff. So when people hear someone like yourself is actually investigating and talking about these issues it can be pretty intimidating. They wonder ‘what does he have that we don’t?’ It’s faith in Jesus.
    Thanks for the great work you do. God Bless.

  2. One of my pastors even thinks the whole Nephilim thing is metaphorical. His wife was telling me about how in an airport some lady, upon hearing she was a pastor’s wife, told her about a christian conference in Arizona about UFOS and demons, “kooky stuff” the pastor’s wife called it while rolling her eyes, i just knew it was the Ancient of Days Conference.

  3. How sad that Christians who believe that the incarnated Son of God was born of a virgin and died on a cross and came back to life three days later and still lives in Heaven preparing an eternal home for us don’t have open minds enough to even think about these things, let alone accept them on faith!

  4. Most pastors are taught that nearly everything before Abraham in Genesis is metaphorical or legendary. A Barna survey from a couple of years ago found that the pastors most likely to reject the Bible as true from cover to cover were those who graduated from seminary!

  5. You know, I certainly believe in satan and his minions. The Bible tells us that he walks about as a roaring lion seeking whom he may devour. Problem is that he knows full well that coming to humans in demonic guise is not the way to lure them to the dark side. He comes to us in ways much more pleasing and seduces us. I think we all need to be very aware that there are demons who would like nothing better than to destroy our faith, but too much concentration on demonic possesion and such can be dangerous because it directs our attention away from things he is doing every day. For example, in many so-called Christian churches, you won’t even find a crucifix. They no longer preach about sin, as if Christ’s sacrifice on the cross is unnecessary, because they don’t want to make people feel uncomfortable. Don’t you think that satan is right in the thick of that? Satan is the one who whispers in your ear, “Did God really say…?” He won’t reveal his true nature until you are well and firmly in his grasp and it’s too late.

  6. Exactly, Diana. Satan presents himself as an angel of light–which is what his original name means. Helel ben Shachar in Isaiah 14 means “light-bringer, son of the dawn”.

    The enemy doesn’t look like the movie images of Satan. He’s more likely to look like a kindly preacher, a TV host, or the ladies gossiping at the back of the church after Sunday services.

  7. Speaking as someone who is just starting to come to terms with the dawning realization of the truth in what you say you have to remember how shocking and surprising all of this is. As the son of a Baptist minister I was taught to be level headed and balanced in my approach to such topics. Not giving in to fear, panic, or mass hysteria such as recent overreaction to Power Ranger, Pokemon trading cards, Dungeons and Dragons, or whatever was the flavor of the moment. I was taught that to put the boogeyman of Satan into every shadow was as deceptive as trying to “Christianize” everything. It put an unreasoning fear into everyday life and dragged Christianity back into the dark ages of unreasoning paranoia where violence happened based on unfounded suspicions as evidence. I’m still not sure what to think of every aspect of what your show reveals but I will say this: My world has suddenly gotten a great deal larger. I am beginning to see that my concept of the spiritual world has been almost entirely philosophical and “airy fairy”. Almost like elves and hobbits. The realization of a complete society and reality of existence that almost certainly predated ours is I am ashamed to say shocking to me. I didn’t realize how egocentric my view was. I have purchased almost all of the books you have brought to my attention and some you haven’t. Nephilim, life on Mars, genetic mad science, altered history? It seems like the stuff of legends and yet I am at a complete loss to deny the obvious truth of its possible existence. This is hard. This is challenging and definitely not what I was taught. Christians whom I have known for years now think I am going strange. There are no pastors to talk to about this. I am not sure I like “knowing” that something may be going on behind the scenes of what we call reality. It doesn’t make going to church easy. You tend to see people in a new light of “truth deniers” rather than “truth seekers”. Oh well, maybe I am going strange. Pray for me. This is hard.

  8. Keith,

    You make an excellent point, one that Sharon has had to remind me of from time to time. Ten years ago, I was a nominal Christian–a Christian mainly because I’m not Jewish, Muslim, Hindu, or Buddhist. I’ve had to come to grips with the historic reality of the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus, and now the next step in my journey is fitting what most people consider esoterica into my Christian worldview.

    I shouldn’t be so harsh on others who are where I was not long ago–and, to be honest, the couple I mentioned in the post are true, Bible-believing Christians who have been faithful in their walk for a lot longer than I have, as far as I can tell.

    Coming to terms with the literal existence of intelligent evil is like having scales fall from your eyes, isn’t it? I imagine Saul/Paul felt much the same way when he got to Damascus. It’s a bit like being the Roddy Piper character in the old sci-fi movie They Live: You’re the only one who can see the monsters walking around, but you know that telling people straight out will get you nowhere–except maybe a trip to a padded cell.

    We need to pray for one another. But the good news is that thanks to the Good News, fear doesn’t have to be part of our problem.

Leave a Reply

