News Flash: “Weapon” Labeled Right-Wing Blog

The problem with labels is that they’re so confining. The problem with trying to think for yourself is that it makes you difficult to label. Umm Yasmin, self-described “Muslim feminist” (is there really such a thing?), has decided that I am to be counted among the right wing.

Culturally speaking, that’s true. I do hold to the standard of morality handed down by God.

Politically, she’s got me wrong. She describes herself as “anti-Bush/anti-Republican”, and in the context of her post, it appears that she assumes I’m pro-Bush.

Vox Day is often mischaracterized in the same way. I am not pro-Republican or pro-Democrat. I am pro-liberty, and both of the major political parties in the U.S. have proven themselves to favor a bigger, more intrusive central government.

Sadly, most people are so caught up in the left/right issue that they don’t see the big picture. Conservatives who rightly screamed bloody murder when the Clinton administration began trampling on personal freedom are solidly behind the Bush administration’s policies which go even further toward establishing the United States of Total Surveillance.

And both parties continue to work behind the scenes to expand the powers of NAFTA, eventually to merge Canada, Mexico, and the US with its southern neighbors into an American superstate built along the lines of the European Union.

I oppose this garage sale of United States sovereignty. Does this make me right-wing?

Well, so be it. But please don’t mistake me for a Republican.

6 responses to “News Flash: “Weapon” Labeled Right-Wing Blog

  1. I’m also among the “right-wing” blogs she mentions. Not completely inaccurate in my case, but libertarian conservative is more specific.

  2. Oh dear, I knew I’d get into trouble with that post. I deliberately avoided using the label Republican because of course it’s possible to be right-wing or conservative without being a Republican party-politically speaking. Perhaps I should have used conservative/liberal although I recognise that binary labels are misleading.

    To be fair I did tell readers to expect fallibility in my judgments 😉

  3. Umm Yasmin, thank you for your remarks! As Agent Smith said, “I’m not such a bad guy once you get to know me.”

    You’re right, I should have noted that you did not specifically label anybody by political affiliation. That was an assumption on my part based on your political leanings.

    For myself, I did vote for G.W. in the last election, but reluctantly and only because a Kerry presidency would have been worse. (And it wouldn’t have changed a thing–if you read Kerry’s positions carefully, there wasn’t a hair’s breadth of difference with Bush).

    I voted Constitution Party in the presidential primaries. Their platform is closest to my beliefs.

  4. Ooooh how could you. Mind you, devil you know and all that. It’s the shadowy figures behind GW that worry me *sigh*.

  5. That’s my point: The shadowy figures behind Bush are the same ones behind Kerry, Edwards, Gore, etc. In fact, they’ll be getting together for strategy sessions this weekend in Munich at the annual secretive Bilderberg Group meeting.

    Take a look at the attendees of the meetings: http://www.bilderberg.org. Why else would guys like George Soros, John Kerry, John Edwards, and members of the UK’s liberal wing sit down for a weekend with right-wing mainstays like Kissinger, Cheney, Rumsfeld, Wolfowitz, and Bolton?

    In the public eye, they put on a great show of bashing each other. Behind the scenes, it’s cocktails. The whole left-right political paradigm is nothing more than a genteel version of professional wrestling.

  6. As a quick throw-away comment re: the “shadowy figures” behind W…let’s wait and see how many GWB assocaties need Presidential pardons in the closing days of his adminstration. My guess is nowhere near the number that Clinton found it in his big soft heart to forgive their various (and oddly related) crimes.

Leave a Reply

